How do I delete my Facebook account?
If you'd like your account permanently deleted, log into your account and go to this Facebook Help Centre link (external link) and click on ‘let us know’.
Remember that if you decide to permanently delete your account, you won’t be able to access your account again.
Before taking this step, it may be well worth your time to download a copy of the data that Facebook has on you.
Facebook can take up to 90 days to process account deletion requests, but once your account has gone, it cannot be retrieved. Facebook says once the deletion process has begun, it will delete all of the things you've posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. While Facebook is deleting this information, it will be inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
Note that some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account.